Annie Get Your Gun 1st production

Music & Lyrics by Irving Berlin

Book by Herbert & Dorothy Fields

November 17, 18, 19, 1977

Director: Lillian Haufe

Assistant director: Bob Williams

Music director: Karen Spurgeon

Choreograpy: Ann Pabst, Gail Wortmann

Accompanist: Karon Stirling, Lois Mincks

Synopsis: Annie is a rough and tumble backwoods girls who is the star of Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show and handy with a rifle. She meets up with Frank Butler, star of Pawnee Bills’ Show, and the ensuing romance encounters difficulties until their two shows merge into a single outfit and Frank and Annie become members of the same company.

Cast (in order of appearance): Little boy Marc Messenger; Little girl Melinda Messenger; Charlie Davenport Marty Owen; Dolly Tate Sandra Huffman; Indians Eric Bachman & Joe Snyder; Mac Rick Perry; Foster Wilson Donald Carr; Frank Butler Bill Rooney; Annie Oakley Gail Wortmann; Jake Kevin McBride; Nellie Jane Piper; Jessie Jayne Garner; Minnie Lori Lindley; Buffalo Bill Bill Baughman; Mrs. Little Horse Christine Botts; Mrs. Black Tooth Viola Duffield; Mrs. Yellow Foot Evelyn Humphreys; Conductor Roger Wyse; Porter Jerry Rooney; Waiter Dwight Messenger; Pawnee Bill Mark Pabst; Sitting Bull Henry Perry; Pawnee Bill’s messenger Gary Henry; Major Domo Roger Wyse; Mr. Schuyler Adams Jerry Rooney; Mrs. Schuyler Adams Coe Travis; Mr. Henderson James Mincks; Mrs. Ernest Henderson Annita Hockersmith; Mrs. Sylvia Potter Porter Hazel Nardini; Understudy for Annie Janice Speer; Understudy for Frank Dwight Messenger; Chorus Kathy Hartwick, Ron Henkenius, Annita Hockersmith, Dwight Messenger, James Mincks, Richard Pearson, Darlene Rickart, Jerry Rooney, Janice Speer, Mickey Steinkruger, Coe Travis, Roger Wyse; Dancers Jennifer Baughman, Kelly Hall, Kim Hall, Paula Nichols, Julie Wagler, Julie Wilkinson

Musicians: Bass Tim Walgamuth; Percussion Patty Carter; Accompanists Lois Mincks & Karon Stirling

Crews: Stage crew Ed & Joyce Bachman, Connie Hendricker, Kate Downing, Randy & Ginny Umphress, Mike & Vickie Wilfawn; Props Mary Carol Smith, Janet Woolard, Grace Henkenius, Edna Magill; Set construction Bill Augspurger, Bruce Wortmann, Gene Proctor, Ron Gordon; Costumes Betty McConnell, Martha Boatman, Nancy Games, Mary Lou McVey, Jane Biskup, Pat Carlisle, Viola Duffield, Susan McConnell, Kelly Hall, Marilyn McCreedy, Leverda Rupe; Lights Chris Soldat, Dennis Ramseyer, Bill Biskup, Gary Henry; Sound Jim Carlisle; Art work Deb Baughman, Marjorie Haworth, Jean Zaputil, Kathy Carroll, Jeanne Swaim, Debbie Wagler; Makeup Diane Paluska, Sheila Early, Jill Owen, Cindy Ramseyer, Marilyn Truitt, Mary Vinzant; Prompter Hazel Nardini; Stage manager Virginia Pabst; Publicity Kathy Henry; Try-out committee Elaine Perry, Martha Boatman, Jean Stockham; Programs Deena Boone, Doris Smith, Patty Proctor; Posters Deb Baughman, Lory Chaplin; Tickets Gloria Garner; House committee Pete & Kay Burchette, Orville Rupe; Ticket takers & ushers Gini Schuller, Susan Martin, Jean Stockham, Jack & Virginia Kinnamon, Rex Steinkruger, Doran Pence

Special Note: This show was presented at The Barn, a facility that was located east of what is now the Word of Life Church.

Additional program information: The Theatre The theatre has stood at the present site for more than sixty years. Built by a Mr. Newell, it was owned by Henry Wishard, then later sold to Harvey Graham. Mr. Graham sold it to Henry Rehfield in July, 1928. The Fine Arts Council purchased it recently from Mrs. Kenneth Anderson, daughter of Mr. Rehfield. Until the mid-thirties, not only movies, but stock companies held their productions at the theatre. Dressing rooms were in the basement and there was a loft for “flying scenery.” The theatre was completely remodeled in 1938, and was the first building in Bloomfield to be air-conditioned. Other improvements made at the time was a new tiled lobby with ticket office, new office for the manager, carpeted foyer, and ear phones were installed in some seats for those with hearing difficultites. Also, a neon lighted canopy was added. The sound system was installed in 1940. For many years, Mrs. Rehfield assisted her husband in managing the business. After her mother’s death in 1944, Mrs. Anderson helped her father until his death in 1961. Mrs. Anderson continued to manage the theatre until it was finally closed May 30, 1970.

Theatre Renovation The Davis County Fine Arts Council acquired the Iowa Theatre with great hopes for its use. Plans range from movies, country western concerts, plays, community meetings, and style shows, to an auditorium for school functions and art activities of all kinds. As a non-profit group, the council has the unique ability to offer these community activities on a cost-only basis. However, renovation of the theatre is proving to be a costly project. Much of the interior has deteriorated as the building sat empty over the years. The following is a list of proposed expenses: Purchase price $10,000; Roof & ceiling replacement $8,000; Re-upholster & re-finish seats $1,500; Air-conditioning & furnace repair $3,000; Electrical re-wiring & new exit lights $3,000; Repair of back, brick wall & guttering $2,000; Replacement of 2 exit doors & crash bars $1,000; Carpeting $4,200; Stage curtain $750; Repair of stage tower $1,500; Plumbing $5,000; Paint & plaster $2,500; Lumber for rebuilding stage area $1,000; Fire escape repair $500; Repair of front exterior $2,000; Basic lighting for stage $4,000; Total $49,950. Labor cost has not been included in most cases as volunteers will be used with many of the projects. Yet, material costs must be met. Generous donations by the community will be the major resource in meeting these costs. Persons interested in contributing should contact Fund Drive Chairpersons Ritzanna Warning or Butch Priester.

Davis County Fine Arts Council Officers & Board Members: President Jean Augspurger; Vice president Mary Kincart; Treasurer Elaine Perry; Secretary Diane Wilcox; Board members Kay Burchette, James Ensminger, Chauncey Francis, Eldon Haworth, Linda Hockersmith, Melissa Irvin, Elmer A. Jones, Jim Kouba, Susan Martin, Doris Schoonover, Karen Spurgeon, Mickey Steinkruger, Ritzanna Warning, Pat Wagler, Ottlin Wegner